Seventeenth Lok Sabha
Members Bioprofile
Yadav, Shri Mulayam Singh
Constituency   : Mainpuri (Uttar Pradesh)
Party Name     : Samajwadi Party(SP)
Email Address : mulayamsingh[DOT]yadav[AT]sansad[DOT]nic[DOT]in

Father's Name Late Shri Sughar Singh Yadav
Mother's Name Smt. Murti Devi
Date of Birth 22 Nov 1939
Place of Birth Vill. Saifai, Distt. Etawah (Uttar Pradesh)
Marital Status Married
Spouse's Name Smt. Sadhna Yadav
No. of Sons 1
B.A., B.T., M.A. (Political Science)
Educated at K.K. College, Etawah, A.K. College, Shikohabad and B.R. College, Agra University, Agra, Uttar Pradesh
Profession Agriculturist
Political and Social Worker
Permanent Address
P.O.-Saifai, Janpad,
Etawah-226001, Uttar Pradesh
Tel : (0522) 2986871

8/8, Vikrmaditya Marg,
Lucknow-226001, Uttar Pradesh
Tel : (0522) 2235477, 09971820100 (M)
Present Address
16, Ashoka Road,
New Delhi - 110 001
Tel : (011) 23736010, 09971820100(M)
Positions Held
1967, 1974, 1977, 1985, 1989, 1991, 1993 and 1996 Member, Uttar Pradesh Legislative Assembly (Eight Terms)
1974 Member, Pratinihit Vidhayan Samiti
1977 Minister, Cooperative and Animal Husbandry, Uttar Pradesh
President, Lok Dal, Uttar Pradesh
President, Lok Dal (B), Uttar Pradesh
1980 President, Janata Dal, Uttar Pradesh
1982-85 Member, Uttar Pradesh Legislative Council
Leader of the Opposition, Uttar Pradesh Legislative Council
1985-87 Leader of the Opposition, Uttar Pradesh Legislative Assembly
1989-91 Chief Minister, Uttar Pradesh
1989 Leader, Janata Dal Legislative Party, Uttar Pradesh
1992 onwards Founder President, Samajwadi Party
1993-95 Chief Minister, Uttar Pradesh
1996 Elected to 11th Lok Sabha
1996-98 Union Cabinet Minister, Defence
1998 Re-elected to 12th Lok Sabha (2nd term)
1998-99 Member, General Purposes Committee
1999 Re-elected to 13th Lok Sabha (3rd term)
Leader, Samajwadi Parliamentary Party, Lok Sabha
1999-2000 Chairman, Standing Committee on Petroleum and Natural Gas
Member, General Purposes Committee
Aug. 2003-May 2007 Chief Minister, Uttar Pradesh
2004 Re-elected to 14th Lok Sabha( 4th term)
14 May 2007- 15 May 2009 Leader of the Opposition, Uttar Pradesh Legislative Assembly
May 2009 Re-elected to 15th Lok Sabha (5th term)
Leader, Samajwadi Parliamentary Party, Lok Sabha
31 Aug. 2009 Chairman, Standing Committee on Energy
May 2014 Re-elected to 16th Lok Sabha (6th term)
1 Sep. 2014 - 25 May 2019 Member, Standing Committee on Labour
Member, Consultative Committee, Ministry of Home Affairs
29 Jan. 2015 - 25 May 2019 Member, General Purposes Committee
May 2019 Re-elected to 17th Lok Sabha (7th term)
13 Sept. 2019 onwards Member, Standing Committee on Agriculture, Animal Husbandry and Food Processing
21 Nov. 2019 onwards Member, General Purposes Committee, Lok Sabha
Member, Consultative Committee, Ministry of Home Affairs

Countries Visited
France, Germany, Nepal, Switzerland, Poland, Russia, Singapore, U.K. and U.S.A.
Other Information
Inspired and influenced by the socialist thoughts and ideology of Dr. Ram Manohar Lohia; joined politics after coming into close contacts with Sarvashri Madhu Limaye, Karpoori Thakur, Ram Sewak Yadav, Raj Narayan and Janeshwar Mishra, later also influenced by former Prime Minister, Chowdhary Charan Singh; Shri V.P. Singh and Chandra Shekhar; jailed nine times during different agitations for the protection of rights and welfare of farmers, labourers, youth, students, minorities and backward classes; and President , (i) Etawah Degree College, 1962-63; (ii) Shikohabad A.K. College, 1963-64 and (iii) Students Union, K.K. College, Etawah; served as lecturer, Karhail (Mainpuri), Uttar Pradesh

Developed and Hosted by National Informatics Centre (NIC)
Content on this website is published, managed & maintained by Software Unit, Computer (HW & SW) Management. Branch, Lok Sabha Secretariat