Sixteenth Lok Sabha
Members Bioprofile
Kodikunnil, Shri Suresh
Constituency   : Mavelikkara (SC) (Kerala )
Party Name     : Indian National Congress(INC)
Email Address : kodikunnil[DOT]suresh[AT]sansad[DOT]nic[DOT]in

Father's Name Shri Kunjan
Mother's Name Smt. Thankamma
Date of Birth 04 Jun 1962
Place of Birth Kodikunnil, Distt. Thiruvananthapuram (Kerala)
Marital Status Married
Date of Marriage 30 Jun 1994
Spouse's Name Smt. Bindhu Suresh
No. of Sons 1
No.of Daughters 1
Higher Secondary, LL.B.
Educated at Govt-Law College, Thiruvananthapuram, Kerala
Profession Political and Social Worker
Permanent Address
School View, Kizhakekara, P.O. Kottarakara,
Distt. Kollam, Kerala-691506
Telefax : (0474) 2454000, 09447145400 (M)
Present Address
24, G.R.G. Road,
New Delhi - 110 001
Tels. : (011) 23359009, 23710705, 09013180580 (M)
Fax : (011) 23753787
Positions Held
1989 Elected to 9th Lok Sabha
1989-91 Member, Consultative Committee, Ministry of Labour and Welfare
1991 Re-elected to 10th Lok Sabha (2nd term)
1991-96 Member, Consultative Committee, Ministry of Communications
Member, Standing Committee on Communications
Member, Estimates Committee
Member, Committee on the Welfare of Scheduled Castes and Scheduled Tribes
Member, Committee on Papers Laid on the Table
1996 Re-elected to 11th Lok Sabha (3rd term)
1996 Executive Member, C.P.P.
General Secretary, I.Y.C.
Member, P.C.C., Kerala
Member, A.I.C.C.
Member, Railway Convention Committee
Member, Standing Committee on Petroleum and Fertilizers
Member, Consultative Committee, Ministry of Human Resource Development
1999 Re-elected to 13th Lok Sabha (4th term)
1999-2000 Member, Standing Committee on Food, Civil Supplies and Public Distribution
Member, Committee on Papers Laid on the Table
Member, Committee on Estimates
Member, Standing Committee on Transport, Tourism and Culture
Member, Committee on Members of Parliament Local Area Development Scheme
2009 Re-elected to 15th Lok Sabha (5th term)
2009 onwards Secretary, Congress Parliamentary Party (CPP)
6 Aug. 2009 Member, Committee on the Welfare of Scheduled Castes and Scheduled Tribes (2009-2010)
31 Aug. 2009 - 2012 Member, Standing Committee on Rural Development
23 Sep. 2009 Member, Joint Committee on Salaries and Allowances of Members of Parliament
2009 - 2012 Member, Consultative Committee, Ministry of Railways
1 May 2010 Member, Committee on the Welfare of Scheduled Castes and Scheduled Tribes
2011 - 2012 Chairman, Committee on Salaries and Allowances of Members of Parliament
28 Oct. 2012 - 2014 Union Minister of State, Labour and Employment
May, 2014 Re-elected to 16th Lok Sabha (6th term)
1 Sep. 2014 onwards Member, Committee on Petitions
Member, Standing Committee on Labour
Member, Consultative Committee, Ministry of Health and Family Welfare
25 May 2015 onwards Member, National Monitoring Committee for the Education of Scheduled Castes, Scheduled Tribes and Persons With Disabilities
Member, National Shipping Board

Social And Cultural Activities
Welfare of the Scheduled Castes and Scheduled Tribes Community and all other socially and economically backward communities; Conducting medical camps for financially Backward Classes; Conducting Job Mela for unemployed youths and conducting eye camps
Favourite Pastime and Recreation
Reading; travelling; Working with people as a volunteer; Conducting National Youth Festivals and National Integration Camps
Sports and Clubs
Actively involved in promoting sports and Youth Clubs, Sports Clubs and other youth development activities; Organising Boat Races through Boat Clubs
Countries Visited
Australia, Bahrain, China, France, Germany, Ireland, Kuwait, Kazakhstan, Malaysia, Oman, Qatar, Saudi Arabia, Singapore, South Korea, Switzerland, U.A.E. and U.S.A.
Other Information
President, (i) KRL Employees Association; (ii) Kerala Students Union Trivandrum* City Committee, 1981-83; and (iii) L.I.C. Employees Congress, Trivandrum* Division; Vice-President, Kerala Students Union, State Committee, 1983-97; General-Secretary, Kerala Students Union, 1987-90; Chairman, Dr. Ambedkar Institute of Legal Studies, Trivandrum; Member, (i) Central Board of Fisheries, 1991-96; (ii) Telecom Advisory Committee, Kerala Circle, 1991-96; Convenor, Congress MPs of Kerala, 2009 - till date; Vice-Chairman, Nehru Yuva Kendra Sangathan 2005 - 2008; Secretary, All India Congress Committee; General Secretary, Kerala Pradesh Congress Committee and All India Youth Congress; Office bearer of several Trade Unions

* Now Thiruvananthapuram

Developed and Hosted by National Informatics Centre (NIC)
Content on this website is published, managed & maintained by Software Unit, Computer (HW & SW) Management. Branch, Lok Sabha Secretariat