Seventeenth Lok Sabha
Members Bioprofile

1969 President, Gulbarga City Congress Committee, Karnataka
1972-2009 Member, Karnataka State Legislative Assembly (Nine Terms)
1976-78 Minister of State, Primary and Secondary Education, Govt. of Karnataka
1979 Cabinet Minister, Rural Development & Panchayati Raj, Govt. of Karnataka
1980-83 Cabinet Minister, Revenue, Govt. of Karnataka
1983 Secretary, Congress Legislature Party, Karnataka Legislative Assembly
1985 Deputy Leader of Opposition, Karnataka Legislative Assembly
1988-89 Vice-President, Karnataka Pradesh Congress Committee
1990-92 Cabinet Minister, Revenue, Rural Development and Panchayati Raj, Govt. of Karnataka
1992-94 Cabinet Minister, Co-operation, Medium and Large Industries, Govt. of Karnataka
1996-99 Leader, Congress Legislature Party and Leader of Opposition, Karnataka Legislative Assembly
1999-2004 Cabinet Minister, Home, Infrastructure Development and Minor Irrigation, Govt. of Karnataka
2004-06 Cabinet Minister , Water Resources and Transport, Govt. of Karnataka
2005 President, Karnataka Pradesh Congress Committee
2008-09 Leader of Congress Legislature Party and Leader of Opposition, Karnataka Legislative Assembly
2009 Elected to 15th Lok Sabha
31 May 2009 - 17 Jun. 2013 Union Cabinet Minister, Labour and Employment
17 Jun. 2013 - 26 May 2014 Union Cabinet Minister, Railways and Social Justice and Empowerment (additional charge)
May, 2014 Re-elected to 16th Lok Sabha (2nd term)
Leader of the Congress Parliamentary Party
13 June 2014 onwards Member, Business Advisory Committee
1 Sep. 2014 onwards Member, Standing Committee on Home Affairs
08 Oct. 2014 onwards Member, Joint Parliamentary Committee on Maintenance of Heritage Character and Development of Parliament House Complex
20 Oct. 2014 Member of National Committee (NC) for commemorating the 125th Birth Anniversary of Pandit Jawaharlal Nehru
29 Jan. 2015 onwards Member, General Purposes Committee
Member, Consultative Committee, Ministry of Defence
1 May 2017 onwards Chairperson, Public Accounts Committee
Member, Committee on Budget of Lok Sabha

Developed and Hosted by National Informatics Centre (NIC)
Content on this website is published, managed & maintained by Software Unit, Computer (HW & SW) Management. Branch, Lok Sabha Secretariat