Seventeenth Lok Sabha
Members Bioprofile

1965-68 President, Zila Parishad, Kangra
1972-85 Member, Himachal Pradesh Legislative Assembly
1977-80 Chief Minister, Himachal Pradesh
1980-85 Leader of the Opposition, Himachal Pradesh Legislative Assembly
1989 Elected to 9th Lok Sabha
1990-92 Member, Himachal Pradesh Legislative Assembly
Chief Minister, Himachal Pradesh (2nd term)
1998 Re-elected to 12th Lok Sabha (2nd term)
1998-99 Member, Rules Committee
Member, Standing Committee on Defence and its Sub-Committee-I
Member, Library Committee
Member, Consultative Committee, Ministry of Power
1999 Re-elected to 13th Lok Sabha (3rd term)
13 Oct. 1999 - 30 June 2002 Union Cabinet Minister, Consumer Affairs, Food & Public Distribution
1 July 2002- 6 April 2003 Union Cabinet Minister, Rural Development
2008 - 2014 Nominated to Rajya Sabha from H.P.
May 2008 - Aug. 2009 Chairperson, Standing Committee on Commerce
Nov. 2012 - 25 July 2013 Nominated to the Panel of Vice-Chairmen, Rajya Sabha
May, 2014 Re-elected to 16th Lok Sabha (4th term)
14 Aug. 2014 onwards Chairperson, Committee on Public Undertakings
Chairperson, High Level Committee for the re-structuring of Food Corporation of India
1 Sep. 2014 onwards Member, Standing Committee on Personnel, Public Grievances, Law and Justice
Member, Consultative Committee, Ministry of Tourism and Culture
29 Jan. 2015 onwards Member, General Purposes Committee

Developed and Hosted by National Informatics Centre (NIC)
Content on this website is published, managed & maintained by Software Unit, Computer (HW & SW) Management. Branch, Lok Sabha Secretariat