Seventeenth Lok Sabha
Members Bioprofile

1962-89 Member, Karnataka Legislative Assembly (seven terms)
1972-76 Leader of Opposition, Karnataka Legislative Assembly
1983-89 Minister, Public Works and Irrigation, Government of Karnataka
1985-1989 Chairman, Public Accounts Committee, Karnataka Legislative Assembly
1991 Elected to 10th Lok Sabha
1991-94 Member, Standing Committee on Commerce
Member, Joint Parliamentary Committee on Fertilizers
Member, Consultative Committee, Ministry of Agriculture
1993-94 President, Janata Dal, Karnataka
Member, Karnataka Legislative Assembly
1994-96 Chief Minister, Government of Karnataka
Jun. 1996 - Apr. 1997 Prime Minister of India and also incharge of Ministries/Departments of Petroleum and Chemicals, Personnel, Public Grievances and Pensions, Atomic Energy, Home Affairs, Agriculture, Food Processing Industries, Urban Affairs and Employment and Non-Conventional Energy Sources
1996-98 Member, Rajya Sabha
Nov. 1996-Apr. 1997 Leader of the House, Rajya Sabha
1998 Re-elected to 12th Lok Sabha (2nd term)
National President, Janata Dal (S)
2002 Re-elected to 13th Lok Sabha in bye-election (3rd term)
2004 Re-elected to 14th Lok Sabha( 4th term)
5 Aug. 2006-2008 Member, Standing Committee on Railways
2009 Re-elected to 15th Lok Sabha (5th term)
Leader, Janata Dal (Secular) Parliamentary Party, Lok Sabha
31 Aug. 2009 Member, Standing Committee on Defence
May, 2014 Re-elected to 16th Lok Sabha (6th term)
1 Sep. 2014 onwards Member, Standing Committee on Defence
Member, Consultative Committee, Ministry of Urban Development, Housing and Urban Poverty Alleviation

Developed and Hosted by National Informatics Centre (NIC)
Content on this website is published, managed & maintained by Software Unit, Computer (HW & SW) Management. Branch, Lok Sabha Secretariat