Seventeenth Lok Sabha
Members Bioprofile
Rudy, Shri Rajiv Pratap
Constituency   : Saran (Bihar)
Party Name     : Bharatiya Janata Party(BJP)
Email Address : rprudy[DOT]office[AT]gmail[DOT]com

Father's Name Late Shri Vishwanath Singh
Date of Birth 30 Mar 1962
Place of Birth Patna (Bihar)
Marital Status Married
Date of Marriage 09 Mar 1991
Spouse's Name Smt. Neelam Pratap Singh
No.of Daughters 2 (Ms. Avshreya Pratap Singh and Ms. Atisha Pratap Singh)
B.A. (Hons.), M.A. (Eco.), LL.B.
Educated at St. Michael High School, Patna Government College and Punjab University, Chandigarh
Profession Social Worker
Educationist, Lawyer, Type Rated, A-320 Commercial Pilot
Permanent Address
3, Shivnandan Bhawan,
Jai Prakash Path,
Patna-800001, Bihar
Tels.: 18003456222, 09431008231(M)
Present Address
22, Tughlaq Crescent Road,
New Delhi - 110 011
Tels. : (011) 23070999, 23070300
Positions Held
As Union Minister
1 Sept. 2001- 23 May 2003 Union Minister of State, Commerce and Industry
24 May 2003 - 21 May 2004 Union Minister of State (Independent Charge), Ministry of Civil Aviation
9 Nov. 2014 - 5 July 2016 Union Minister of State, Ministry of Parliamentary Affairs
5 July 2016 - 2 Sept. 2017 Union Minister of State (Independent Charge), Ministry of Skill Development and Enterpreneurship
As MLA and MP
1990-95 Member, Bihar Legislative Assembly
Member, Committee on Pollution and Environment, Bihar Legislative Assembly
1996 Elected to 11th Lok Sabha
1999 Re-elected to 13th Lok Sabha (2nd term)
4 July 2008 Member, Rajya Sabha (1st term)
8 July 2010 - 16 May 2014 Member, Rajya Sabha (2nd term)
May 2014 Re-elected to 16th Lok Sabha (3rd term)
Represented as a Member of Committees in Parliament
Standing Committee on Finance
Standing Committee on Environment and Forests
Standing Committee on Transport and Tourism
Committee on Subordinate Legislation
Joint Committee on Patents (Second Amendment) Bill, 1999
Committee on Public Undertakings
13 June 2014 Member, Business Advisory Committee
1 Sep. 2014 - 9 Nov. 2014 Chairperson, Standing Committee on Energy
Member, Rules Committee
1 Sept. 2017 - 25 May 2019 Member, Standing Committee on Personnel, Public Grievances, Law and Justice
1 Sept. 2017 - 25 May 2019 Member, Standing Committee on Finance
22 Dec. 2017 - 25 May 2019 Member, Committee on Estimates
11 Jan. 2018 Convener, Sub-Committee of the Standing Committee on Personnel, Public Grievance, Law & Justice
15 Feb. 2018 - 25 May 2019 Chairperson, Standing Committee on Water Resources
13 Dec. 2018 - 25 May 2019
May 2019
Member, House Committee
Re-elected to 17th Lok Sabha (4th term)
20 June 2019 onwards Member, Business Advisory Committee
24 July 2019 onwards Member, Committee on Estimates
13 Sept. 2019 onwards Member, Standing Committee on Transport, Tourism and Culture
09 Oct. 2019 onwards Member, Rules Committee
Member, Consultative Committee, Ministry of Civil Aviation
16 Oct. 2020 onwards
13 Sept. 2021 onwards
Member, Committee on Privileges
Member, Standing Committee on Agriculture, Animal Husbandry and Food Processing
Political Appointment
1998 National Vice-President, Bharatiya Janata Yuva Morcha;
Member, National Executive, BJP onwards;
National Spokesperson, BJP;
National General Secretary, BJP;
BJP State Incharge Kerala, Nagaland, Sikkim, Goa and Maharashtra
Other Position
President, Aero Club of India;
Secretary (Administration), Constitution Club of India;
President, All India Dart Association;
Commercial Pilot and Captain A-320;
Ex. Member, Press Council of India;
Member, National Tiger Conservation Authority;
Member, India Habitat Centre;
Member, India International Centre;
Member, Delhi Golf Club;
Member, Patna Golf Club & New Patna Club

Special Interests
Environment, Wild Life, Tourism, Aviation & Rural Development and offering consultancy on landscaping and construction
Favourite Pastime and Recreation
Photography, Reading and Flying, Cruise Travel & Tourism
Sports and Clubs
Cricket, Badminton, Swimming, River-rafting, Snorkelling and Scuba diving
Secretary (Administration), Constitution Club of India
Countries Visited
1. Nepal, 2. Singapore, 3. Thailand, 4. U.S.S.R. (now Russia), 5. Sweden, 6. United Arab Emirates, 7. Belarus, 8. Israel, 9. Switzerland, 10. United States, 11. United Kingdom, 12.Germany, 13. Spain, 14. Brazil, 15. Japan, 16. Bangladesh, 17. France, 18. Italy, 19.Canada, 20. Australia, 21. Sri Lanka, 22. Belgium, 23. Bahrain, 24. Croatia, 25. Trinidad and Tobago, 26. Maldives, 27. Saint Lucia, 28. Denmark, 29. Finland, 30. Slovakia, 31. Norway, 32.New Zealand, 33. Kuwait, 34. Jamaica, 35. Lithuania, 36. Seychelles, 37. Dominica, 38.Saint Kitts & Nevis, 39. Nigeria, 40. Mexico, 41. Ethiopia, 42. Turkey, 43. Tanzania, 44.South Africa, 45. Myanmar, 46. Kenya, 47. Uganda, 48. Sudan, 49. Poland, 50. Morocco, 51. Saudi Arabia, 52. Netherlands, 53. Rwanda, 54. Cuba, 55. Philipsburg, Sint Maarten, 56. Dominican Republic, 57. Austria, 58. Oman, 59. State of Palestine, 60. Qatar, 61. Latvia, 62. Mauritius, 63.Bahamas, 64. Grenada, 65. Antigua and Barbuda, 66. San Juan, Puerto Rico, 67. Charlotte Amalie, St. Thomas, 68. Greece, 69. Mozambique
Other Information
Started career as a student union representative, becoming an eminent political leader in India. He has served as the Union Minister of State (Independent Charge) for Skill Development & Entrepreneurship and Minister of State for Parliamentary Affairs in Shri Narendra Modi’s government. In Shri Atal Bihari Vajpayee’s government, was the Minister of State for Commerce and Industry and later, the Minister of State with Independent Charge of Civil Aviation in 2003. Currently serving his 4th term in the Lok Sabha and was previously also elected twice to the Rajya Sabha from the state of Bihar;
Elected as a State Legislator from Bihar at the age of 27 in the 1990s. Served in various organizational roles, including the National General Secretary and the National Spokesperson of Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP), in his political career spanning nearly three decades;
As a student union leader, was the President, Students Union, Government College, Chandigarh, 1982; General Secretary, Panjab University Students Union, 1984; Elected as the youngest member of Bihar Legislative Assembly in 1990; Professionally, an academician a teacher of economics, Was Lecturer in Economics, A.N. College, Patna (under Magadh, University), Bihar; and also has had a stint as a Legal Counsel, apart from a deep association with the field of Aviation. His tenure in Civil Aviation Ministry during the period 2003 - 2004, had witnessed comprehensive reforms and its footprints can be observed even today. Modernisation of Indian Airports, launch of Low Cost Airlines, ATF tax reduction, abolition of IATT, revising the charter policy etc. were some major milestones. He is credited as the only Parliamentarian on globe Captaining Airbus-320 Jets, flying with one of the largest airlines in India and also figures in the Limca book of World records. A distinction of being the few civilians to have flown Sukhoi 30-MKI fighter aircraft, Grippen, Rafale fighter;
Makes special efforts to develop the District of Saran in Bihar as a model district by way of Industrial investment, infrastructure and raising resources and creating employment opportunities for the posterity and fulfilling their aspirations;
Also credited with having the largest GPS monitored Ambulance services numbering 65 in Chapra Parliamentary Constituency with a centralized toll free control room; Provided consultancy on landscaping and construction for Park (ii) North Avenue Flats (iii) Type III New Flats (iv) renovation of Constitution Club of India

Developed and Hosted by National Informatics Centre (NIC)
Content on this website is published, managed & maintained by Software Unit, Computer (HW & SW) Management. Branch, Lok Sabha Secretariat