Sixteenth Lok Sabha
Members Bioprofile
Taslim Uddin, Shri
Constituency   : Araria (Bihar)
Party Name     : Rashtriya Janata Dal(RJD)

Father's Name Late Shri Amjad Ali
Mother's Name Late Smt. Biwi Sabujan
Date of Birth 04 Jan 1943
Place of Birth Sisauna, Distt. Araria, Bihar
Marital Status Married
Date of Marriage 01 Feb 1949
Spouse's Name Smt. Akhtari Begam
No. of Sons 3
No.of Daughters 2
Maulvi (equivalent to B.A.)
Profession Agriculturist
Trade Unionist, Social Worker
Permanent Address
Vill. Sisauna, Jokihat,
Distt. Araria, Bihar
Tel : (06453) 222786, 09472244267 (M)
Positions Held
1959 Sarpanch, Gram Panchayat, Sisauna
1964 Mukhiya, Gram Panchyat, Sisauna, Jokihat
1969-89, 1995-96 and 2002-2004 Member, Bihar Legislative Assembly (Eight Terms)
1977-80 Parliamentary Secretary, Government of Bihar
1985-1989 Vice President, Janata Party, Bihar
1989 Elected to 9th Lok Sabha
1989-91 Member, Committee on Public Accounts
1989-97 Member, National Council, Janata Dal
1996 Re-elected to 11th Lok Sabha (2nd term)
June-July 1996 Union Minister of State, Home Affairs
1996-98 Member, Standing Committee for Home Affairs
Member, Consultative Committee, Ministry of Home Affairs
Member, Parliamentary Committee on Wakf Board
General Secretary, Rashtriya Janata Dal
1998 Re-elected to 12th Lok Sabha (3rd term)
1998-99 Member, Standing Committee on Railways
Member, Railway Convention Committee
Member, Consultative Committee, Ministry of Tourism
February 2000 Member, Bihar Legislatiev Assembly
2000-2004 Minister, Housing, Government of Bihar
2004 Re-elected to 14th Lok Sabha (4th term)
May 2004 - 2009 Union Minister of State, Agriculture and Consumer affairs, Food & Public Distribution
May, 2014 Re-elected to 16th Lok Sabha (5th term)
1 Sep. 2014 - 17 Sept. 2017 Member, Committee on Government Assurances
Member, Standing Committee on Chemicals and Fertilizers
Member, Consultative Committee, Ministry of Rural Development, Panchayati Raj and Drinking Water and Sanitation
29 Jan. 2015 - 17 Sept. 2017 Member, General Purposes Committee
17 Sept. 2017 Expired

Books Published
(i) Seemanchal Kyon? (ii) Seemanchal Bulletin and (iii) Bihar Kishore
Social And Cultural Activities
Led the literacy movement for spreading education in the villages of Bihar, especially Seemanchal; established a number of educational institutions, viz. High School at Jokihat, Udahat, Malharia Hat, Araria College, Women`s College, Millia College, Peoples College, Araria, Kishan College, Jokihat and several others
Special Interests
Manavdarpan, gardening, politics, culture and literacy, overall rural development, maintaining harmony, social justice, equality; health education; and land cropshures; organised mass movement under the banner of Samajvadi and Kranti Morcha for poverty alleviation for restoration of the rights of the land of crop-shares and against corruption
Favourite Pastime and Recreation
Drama and qawwali
Sports and Clubs
Football, Kabaddi
Countries Visited
Indonesia and Malaysia; as member of High-level Committee of Government of India; visited Jeddah, Mecca and Madina (Saudi Arabia) as a Member of Haj Committee, Government of India
Other Information
Joined politics in 1957; held various posts as a socialist worker till 1964; after the split in Congress Party, joined Congress under the leadership of Shri Ashok Mehta; remained actively associated with the Congress Organisation and served it as Divisional (Mandal) President; joined Co-operative movement in 1960; Chairman, Jokihat Vyapar Mandal; Member, (i) Socialist Party, 1957-64; (ii) Congress Party,1964-72; (iii) J.P. Movement, 1974; (iv) Janata Party, 1977-80; (v) Lok Dal, 1980-85; (vi) Board of Directors, Central Cooperative Bank, Purnea, 1960-69; and (vii) Board of Directors, Indian Institute of Mines, Dhanbad; Representative Member, Biscomaun and State Cooperative Bank; and imprisoned several times since 1957 for political agitations.

Developed and Hosted by National Informatics Centre (NIC)
Content on this website is published, managed & maintained by Software Unit, Computer (HW & SW) Management. Branch, Lok Sabha Secretariat