Seventeenth Lok Sabha
Members Bioprofile

1969 Member, Bihar Legislative Assembly
1970 Joint-Secretary, S.S.P., Bihar
1974 General-Secretary, Lok Dal, Bihar
1977 Elected to 6th Lok Sabha
1980 Re-elected to 7th Lok Sabha (2nd term)
1982-84 Leader of Lok Dal (K), Lok Sabha
1983 Founder, National President, Dalilt Sena
1985-86 National General-Secretary, Lok Dal
1987-88 National General-Secretary, Janata Party
1988-90 Secretary, National Front
National General-Secretary, Janata Dal
1989 Re-elected to 9th Lok Sabha (3rd term)
1989-90 Union Cabinet Minister, Labour and Welfare
1991 Re-elected to 10th Lok Sabha (4th term)
Member, Business Advisory Committee
Member, Standing Committee on Home Affairs
1996 Re-elected to 11th Lok Sabha (5th term)
Leader of the House, Lok Sabha (During the tenure of 11th Lok Sabha, both the Prime Ministers, Sarvashri H.D. Devegowda and I.K.Gujral, being Members of Rajya Sabha, Shri Paswan was designated as Leader of the House ,Lok Sabha )
Member, Business Advisory Committee
1996-98 Union Cabinet Minister, Railways
1 June 1996-29 June 1996 Minister, Parliamentary Affairs
1998 Re-elected to 12th Lok Sabha (6th term)
Leader, Janata Dal Parliamentary Party
1998-99 Member, General Purposes Committee
Member, Standing Committee on Railways
Member, Consultative Committee, Ministry of Home Affairs
1999 Re-elected to 13th Lok Sabha (7th term)
13 Oct. 1999- 1 Sept. 2001 Union Cabinet Minister, Communications
1 Sept. 2001- 29 April 2002 Union Cabinet Minister, Coal and Mines
2004 Re-elected to 14th Lok Sabha (8th term)
23 May 2004 - 22 May 2009 Union Cabinet Minister, Chemicals & Fertilizers; Steel
July 2010-May 2014 Member, Rajya Sabha
Aug. 2010 Member, Standing Committee on Personnel, Public Grievances, Law and Justice
Sept. 2010 Member, Committee on Petitions
Sept. 2010 - Sept. 2011 Member, Consultative Committee, Ministry Urban Development
2011 Member, Consultative Committee, Ministry of Human Resource Development
May 2013 Member, Committee on Rules, Rajya Sabha
May, 2014 Re-elected to 16th Lok Sabha (9th term)
27 May 2014 onwards Union Cabinet Minister, Consumer Affairs, Food and Public Distribution
29 Jan. 2015 onwards Member, General Purposes Committee

Developed and Hosted by National Informatics Centre (NIC)
Content on this website is published, managed & maintained by Software Unit, Computer (HW & SW) Management. Branch, Lok Sabha Secretariat