Sixteenth Lok Sabha
Members Bioprofile
Naik, Shri Shripad Yesso
Constituency   : North Goa (Goa)
Party Name     : Bharatiya Janata Party(BJP)
Email Address : shripad[DOT]naik[AT]sansad[DOT]nic[DOT]in

Father's Name Late Shri Yesso Bhikari Naik
Mother's Name Late Smt. Jayshri Yesso Naik
Date of Birth 04 Oct 1952
Place of Birth Adpai, North Goa District, Goa
Marital Status Married
Date of Marriage 03 May 1984
Spouse's Name Smt. Vijaya Shripad Naik
No. of Sons 3
Educated at Bombay University, Mumbai, Maharashtra
Profession Businessperson
Permanent Address
Vijayshree, 111, St. Pedro-Old Goa,
P.O. Velhagoa - 403 402, Goa
Tel : (0832) 2444510, 09822122440 (M)
Fax : (0832) 2444088
Present Address
1, Lodhi Estate,
New Delhi - 110 003
Tel : (011) 24635396, 09868180630 (M)
Positions Held
1984-93 Sarpanch (Head), Durbhat Village Panchayat (two terms)
1988-90 General Secretary, B.J.P. Goa Pradesh
1988 Member, National Executive, B.J.P.
1990-95 President, Bharatiya Janata Party, Goa
1994-99 Member, Goa Legislative Assembly
Member, Public Accounts Committee, Goa Legislative Assembly
1995-96 Leader, B.J.P. Legislature Party
Member, Committee on Delegated Legislation, Goa Legislative Assembly
1999 Elected to 13th Lok Sabha
1999-Sep. 2000 Member, Standing Committee on Transport and Tourism
Member, Committee on Absence of Members from the Sittings of the House
Member, Consultative Committee, Ministry of Rural Development
30 Sep. 2000 - 2 Nov. 2001 Union Minister of State, Agriculture
2 Nov. 2001 - 14 May 2002 Union Minister of State, Shipping
2002-2003 Union Minister of State, Civil Aviation
24 May 2003 - 8 Sept. 2003 Union Minister of State, Road Transport & Highways
8 Sep. 2003 - 22 May 2004 Union Minister of State, Finance
2004 Re-elected to 14th Lok Sabha( 2nd term)
Member, Committee on Papers Laid on the Table
Member, Standing Committee on Urban Development
Member, Consultative Committee, Ministry of Tourism
7 Aug. 2007 Member, Committee on Members of Parliament Local Area Development Scheme (MPLADS)
2009 Re-elected to 15th Lok Sabha (3rd term)
31 Aug. 2009 Member, Standing Committee on Energy
7 Oct. 2009 Member, Committee on Members of Parliament Local Area Development Scheme (MPLADS)
Member, Consultative Committee, Ministry of Tourism and Ministry of Urban Poverty Alleviation
2012-13 Member, Public Accounts Committee
May, 2014 Re-elected to 16th Lok Sabha (4th term)
27 May 2014 - 9 Nov. 2014 Union Minister of State (Independent Charge) Ministry of Culture; and Ministry of Tourism.
9 Nov. 2014 - 5 July 2016 Union Minister of State (Independent Charge) Ministry of Ayurveda, Yoga & Naturopathy, Unani, Siddha and Homoeopathy (AYUSH);
Union Minister of State, Ministry of Health and Family Welfare
5 July 2016 onwards Union Minister of State (Independent Charge) Ministry of Ayurveda, Yoga & Naturopathy, Unani, Siddha and Homoeopathy (AYUSH);

Social And Cultural Activities
Has been actively associated with social and cultural activities as President, (i) Vidyarthi Nidhi, Goa; (ii) Sai Prathan Mandir Trust, Ribandar, Goa and Chairman, (i) Shikshan Prassarak Sangh, Dhurbat; (ii) Sharda English High School, Durbhat, Ponda, Goa; and (iii) Sumangal Urban Credit Cooperative Society, Durbhat, Ponda, Goa; (iv) Ratnagiri Education Society-Ratnagiri, Maharashtra; Member of Managing Committees of various Educational Institutions such as (i) Mandovi Education Society, Betim; (ii) Old Goa Education Society, Old Goa; (iii) Prabodhan Education Society, Porvorm Goa
Special Interests
Sports and Clubs
State Player, Kabaddi, Volleyball, Swimming Champion, Southern State Championship, Gold Medalist in 400 mtrs race, Silver medal in shooting, Chairman, Goa Rifle Association-Goa and Mandon Athletic Club - Goa
Countries Visited
Brazil, Equatorial Guinea, Ethiopia, France, Japan, Nepal, Sao Tome & Principe, Singapore, Switzerland, Thailand, U.K. and U.S.A.
Other Information
N.C.C. (National Cadet Corps) `C` Certificate holder and was adjudged the best N.C.C. Candidate

Developed and Hosted by National Informatics Centre (NIC)
Content on this website is published, managed & maintained by Software Unit, Computer (HW & SW) Management. Branch, Lok Sabha Secretariat